The first step of recovery is admitting you have a problem

Hi, my name is Lani and I’m an addict. 

[Hi Lani.]

I have a serious addiction. I really thought I had it under control, but apparently I’ve just relapsed. 

Now, obviously, I’m not addicted to drugs or alcohol or something nasty like that….

I have a reading addiction. Once I start a book, I literally cannot stop. I cannot physically tear myself away from the book no matter how good or bad it is. I have wasted hours, no, days of my life reading when I should be doing something else. 

I feel bad that I’m forcing myself to go to bed later and later every time I turn a page, but I can’t stop. I can never stop. I will never defeat my inner-addict, always whispering just one more page; it can’t hurt; who needs sleep; you’re rewarding yourself for all of your hard work; you’re fine.

~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

