Also at the airport, I saw a pigeon. My immediate reaction was to smile and think “only in New York.” And then I noticed its foot: it had one normal foot, but its other one was rounded under itself and sort of bent out of shape. After further investigation, I could see that it had actually grown around some rubber or plastic thing.

Things like this kill me. I just don’t understand humans. How can we think (how could we have thought for the whole of human history) that we are so much more superior to all other life on earth that we can just litter and pollute and kill everything in our wake? It is our responsibility to protect and love our environment, not destroy and hate it. It’s our duty to make sure that we are not the ones responsible for the downfall of our planet. I don’t have deep and intuitive thoughts about myself. I’m not one of those people who can just write an essay about their feelings. But what I do have deep feelings about is our environment. I don’t understand how there are people who can think that just because we’re evolutionarily superior it means that we can have free reign and destroy our home. Do they not understand that we can’t just pick up and leave? This is what we were given, and this is all that we have. We’re stuck. I don’t want to see the planet turn to dust in our fingers because of our careless attitudes and reckless decisions. It’s already bad enough; let’s not make it any worse.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

